top of page

Clinic Update


I went to see the UW pre-transplant team for my 3 month visit. It's more of the same type of news for you. There has been some change. CT showed there's an infection again in a new spot of my left lung. I'm now taking a lower dosage of the drug we had stopped because of it's side effects. We're hopeful I'll tolerate the lower dosage better because this drug is required post-transplant.

Pulmonary function tests indicate my FEV1 has dropped to 13%. On a different subject, I started an exercise log by request to assure them I am performing enough leg exercises to promote successful walking during recovery.

We've heard back from UNOS and my LAS is now 34. It's been in the 30's since my initial listing in February. The UW had 66 folks waiting for lung transplants towards the end of October. Remember, things change quickly and these numbers are just a snapshot of the moment.

Here's the breakdown (as of Oct. 27th) by month for UW lung transplants this year so far: October = 7 September = 8 August = 1 July = 2 June = 3 May = 5 April = 2 March = 7 February = 5 January = 3

I'm actually feeling a bit perkier lately. Perky enough to enjoy lots of Halloween candy!


Featured Posts
Check back soon
Once posts are published, you’ll see them here.
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page