top of page

Transplant Talk


Hi friends! My last 3 month check-in at the University of Washington was July 19th. Everything has stayed about the same so instead of writing about repeated tests I'm going to share snippets of transplant (tx) information I think you'll find more interesting.

The UW has done 31 lung transplants in 2016. 3 were in July and ~4 so far in August. ~52 people are on their waiting list.

Lung transplant is a procedure...not a cure. It is not expected to extend life. The hope is to improve the quality of life remaining. In July of 2013 I was told I have a 25% chance of being alive in 3 years. It's time for some new statistics ;p

A letter from the UW dated July 27th provides the most recent survival results as reported by the Scientific Registry of Transplant Recipients (SRTR). "The report includes 1-year survival of 85.61% at UWMC, which is within the expected range when compared with the national patient survival of 87.24%. The UWMC 3-year lung patient survival of 73.39% is above the national patient survival of 69.28%." More information is available at the website for the United Network for Organ Sharing (UNOS) at www.unos.org.

The tx should take 8-10hrs. The surgical team will make a "clamshell" cut (from below one armpit, through sternum, to other armpit) for access. Post-tx I should be in the ICU for less than a week if all goes well. I will wake intubated with a ventilator breathing for me. I'll have ~6 chest tubes draining the lung area. I will be on immunosuppressant, antibacterial, and antifungal drugs to name a few. I'm expected to lose up to 33% muscle mass. They want me up and walking asap after surgery. I'll probably have severe hand tremors for a few weeks.

More complicated recoveries can take several weeks. After the ICU I'll be on the thoracic surgery floor for a few weeks(?). When stable enough I'll be released to live close to the UW for 3-6 months. Eventually they'll give us the thumbs up to go home.

I think the opening image reflects my morning thoughts right on the mark. Then I think of the people that will cross my path today, smile, and start moving...


Featured Posts
Check back soon
Once posts are published, you’ll see them here.
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page