top of page

Goal!

I want to crow like Peter Pan (Err...Errrr...Err...Errrrrr) about some happiness that happened this week! February 9th I started doing cardiopulmonary rehabilitation to improve (or maintain) aerobic and muscular health. Well, TaaaaDaaaa! I had set a personal goal of doing the treadmill for 20 minutes. This week I finally made that 20 minutes plus 3! Goal reached! 23 minutes on the treadmill. Can I pat myself on the back? You bet I can! I'm not a slacker either. I did 21 minutes on that puppy the next session. There's some history here too. I did a rehab program last year where I was thrilled to add the treadmill partway through the 18 sessions insurance granted. I left having accomplished 6 minutes. All in all I've come a long way in a positive direction.

I just have to give a shout out: Thank you to the PeaceHealth SW Medical Center Cardiopulmonary Rehab team in Vancouver, WA! These folks are professional, dedicated, intelligent and passionate, This team simply goes above and beyond creating a caring workplace. ;p

Why do I look forward to going to rehab so much?

  • Rehab allows me to get out of the house without imposing on Stacy's schedule. Medicaid provides transportation for most medical appointments. Getting out and about keeps cabin fever at bay.

  • Rehab let's me socialize with other people who have lung disease. Some folks will use tanks, masks, or wheelchairs like me. They are a wonderful mix of personalities that keep me smiling and motivated. There is music and laughter and grumps and groans. Socializing helps keep depression away and maintain conversation skills.

  • Rehab gives me a safe environment to exercise. The staff includes respiratory therapists, nurses, and other professional titles I don't know. They monitor oxygen saturation, weight, and blood pressure. They can provide triage if needed and transport to the close-by emergency room. I can set the equipment at no incline/resistance and at a minimum pace. There are oxygen tanks available on carts. The area is climate controlled. It's doable. At home I try to walk outdoors. There I tackle a low incline to the front sidewalk, gravel in the driveway, and carrying a 5lb. oxygen tank in whatever weather is present.

  • The rehab staff guides me through progressive effort with a crosstrainer, treadmill, or weight exercises. On a typical day I do 2 of the 3 activities. Rehab folks report my session data to the UW Pre-Lung Transplant Team weekly to help them monitor my status. Rehab allows me to fulfill UW recommendations to maintain my acceptance on the waiting list.

  • I also attend education sessions an hour a week. I always learn something new. Both staff and visiting presenters are amenable with ongoing questions during their presentations. It frequently includes dynamics of a support group.

  • The rehab staff inform me about how I can safely continue stretching and weight exercises at home. The stretching has already paid big dividends by giving me enough shoulder/thoracic range of motion to get into a CT machine for a diagnostic procedure this week. The weight training helps with all motion now. It will also pay off in the future as I continue improving muscle tone and mass. I'll try to write more about how very important that is for me in a later post.

That's my chatter about pumonary rehab. This Thursday is my last session covered by insurance. I'm looking into some way to keep it going. They have a "Stage 3" program that's a bit different as we're ready to be more independant. My challenge will be working out transportation without insurance assistance. It'll happen. Stay tuned because you can be sure I'll set a new goal!!!


Featured Posts
Check back soon
Once posts are published, you’ll see them here.
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page