top of page

The 6 P's

"The 6 P's: Perfect Planning Prevents Piss Poor Performance"

I don't know where I first heard that saying but it describes my approach to challenges so very well! I love details. Logistics, work breakdown structures, excel spreadsheets...you name it. It's a good thing too because that's what is needed for me to get through any task. Advance planning. Saving energy. Reaching up above my head streatches my chest too much making drawing a breath really hard. Bending over to look in a cupboard scrunches my chest and diaphragm, again making breathing really hard. Lifting...well, that depends on the moment as to how far I can move a few pounds in any direction.

So, as an example, what does it take to shower?

  • Ask someone to put the shower bench in the bathtub when they leave for work that morning

  • When I'm ready later in the day I walk to the bathroom and catch my breath. Then I reach over the bench and scoot it forward close to the faucet area. Catch my breath. Reach up and pull the curtain over the bench to close it. Catch my breath.

  • Reach in and move the inner curtain from covering the bench towards the edge of the tub making sure water won't leak over. Catch my breath.

  • Reach up and bring down the shower head with long hose.

  • Go somewhere and sit for a few minutes to get some energy back.

  • Walk back to the bathroom. Catch my breath. Arrange a towel on the shower bench so I'm not sitting on cold plastic. Arrange a wash cloth on side of bench. Catch my breath.

  • Position other bath necessities. Get qtips from drawer and place for use. Move weight scale out to use. Go rest a few minutes and come back. Catch my breath.

  • Shower time!

  • Bring phone in case I get The Call! Bring finger oxymeter so I can check my oxygen saturation level if I feel dizzy or too short of breath. Use my inhaler so my lung passages are as clear as they can be before I start breathing in humid air. Put clean clothes in pile on floor. Catch breath.

  • Put handtowel on toilet seat for comfort. Move big towel close to bathtub for drying after. Put hairdryer and brush on floor for later. Catch breath.

  • Sit and undress. Catch breath as needed. Weigh myself for report to UW team. Catch breath.

  • Turn on and adjust water. Position myself onto shower bench and arrange curtain shut. Catch breath.

  • Wash hair and body at slow pace. Rest as needed. Monitor breathing as needed.

  • Finish it up!

  • Turn off water. Manipulate curtains open and straighten. Catch breath. Pat dry. Catch breath again.

  • Get out of tub and sit down. Finish drying. Catch breath.

  • Dress. Catch breath.

  • Wring water out of towels and hang to dry. Catch breath.

  • Dry hair. Catch breath. Finish all the fun things like lotions and potions and brushing teeth. Put away hairdryer and weight scale. Catch breath.

  • Gather everything that goes and all done.

Clean again!! Good grief. It didn't seem like quite so much until I started listing it out. This is what has worked best for me so far. Start to finish takes about an hour and a half. I look forward to just standing under the hot shower water someday and singing.

Whatever task I consider during the day takes planning. It's worth the effort! It feels good to keep active doing whatever I can!

I've heard some folks with COPD express anger and guilt when they hear others tell them "oh, you can do it if you really want to" or "you can do it if you put your mind to it". It's true that we don't really look that sick until we're hospilitized for something. But, we are. Yes, we can function within our individual disease constraints and try hard to maintain what independance and dignity we can. We have to pick our battles. We have to conserve energy. I'm so thankful I've never had those words directed my way. I'm surrounded by very caring people helping me live life to the fullest possible.


Featured Posts
Check back soon
Once posts are published, you’ll see them here.
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page