top of page

Nostalgia: Villa Maria

Thank you so much to all of you from Villa who are helping me with the anticipated costs associated with the bi-lateral lung transplant I am eagerly awaiting. Merriam-Webster defines nostalgia as "a wistful or excessively sentimental yearning for return to or of some past period...". The sentimental tears flow as I reconnect with some of my past classmates. What great memories!

I loved to learn and the Sisters sure knew how to teach! I can't tell you how many times in my life I sent a silent "thank you" to Sister Elaine and her endless slideshows for introducing me to all of those wonderful art works. I smile whenever I see A Sunday Afternoon on the Island of La Grande Jatte by Georges Seurat. Alongside class instruction they taught me many valuable life lessons. I passed them on to my children.

Of course, I didn't make it easy for them did I? Was I a wild child? Smoking in the evergreen branch hide-away behind the class building after school waiting for the bus. That smoking tree must have really looked funny with so many of us there. Riding the bus everyday sounds easy enough doesn't it? A classmate recently reminded me of when I got off the bus and walked home since the driver wouldn't give my boyfriend a ride. That was a loooong walk folks.

Peace and Calm surroundings: Sitting in the sunshine with Sandy and Rebel. Going to the church and listening to the song and prayer.

The best thing of all was spending 4 years with so many awesome people. We had fun times at school and beyond. We supported each other when needed. We suffered through proms and senior retreats. We grew through community service every January.

I'm so grateful Villa Maria was part of my life during those crazy teen years. Accept my gratitude today for your empathy and support once again. The financial costs are overwhelming. Funds raised help so much to relieve the anxiety wondering if I will be able to absorb costs to stay by the transplant hospital for the extensive medical attention that follows for 3-6 months with caregiver assistance. I focus on being the best patient I can be when I go into that surgery. I hope the call comes soon before I decline more.


Featured Posts
Check back soon
Once posts are published, you’ll see them here.
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page