top of page

Nostalgia: Jewish Community

I think a lot about all of you supporting my struggle to maintain quality of life as I both accept (relationship with God) and fight (bi-lateral transplant) my mortality. A much earlier supportive community comes to mind: The Jewish community in Youngstown where I grew up! The memories have brought a much needed uplifting boost to my week as I recover from a flu bug. Bear with me here as I try to shape and share bits of those days. I've always been awkward at this kind of thing so be warned...

My parents worked long hours every day at their clothing store (ahhh, next to Kravitz' Deli where I ate most of the time!). Kravitzs was the place where everyone gathered to review gossip of the day. Rose, Iris, Jack and others fed us at the dinner counter and ran the busy deli area. Sadly, we didn't keep kosher or light Sabbath candles at home. We celebrated Hannukah though. It was sooooo exciting as a kid to light the menorah candles and get presents each night with the best saved for last! I have a poor long term memory but can still recall the small bags of chocolate coins and playing driedel. I hope they use a better grade of chocolate for those coins now!

We went to Anshe Emeth/El Emeth temple as a family for Rosh Hashanah (the Jewish New Year) and Yom Kippur (Day of Atonement). My friend, Jill, and I had taught ourselves the American Sign Language Alphabet. I remember sitting on those hard benches during the services and having signed conversations with her. Now and then a giggle would escape and draw a questioning look. During early years I had attended Sunday School and dressed up in costumes mom made for the Purim parade. Then I attended Hebrew School a few days a week after regular school (torture!). I'm still glad I learned to read hebrew. I can hardly translate a thing anymore but reading some of the prayers and texts bring back the lyrical accompaniment and an associated feeling of confidence and security. I studied for a Bat Mitzvah with Cantor Eichenbaum but it wasn't to be.

There was a Jewish Community Center (JCC) just two blocks from where I lived. I spent a lot of time there and have great memories of summer camp every year. In my teens I used the gym, swimming pool and raquetball courts. I first read The Lord of the Rings trilogy under a big shade tree there. I went two years to Camp Crusy..."Crusy has Ruach!" was the rallying cry! I wasn't a big fan except for falling in love with a blue eyed boy. I hope he fared well in life. I wonder if the JCC is still there providing a haven for others. Hope so!

My Grandparents, Jack and Florence Bunshaft, were a highly respected couple in the Jewish community and were among the original Anshe Emeth members. We had big extended family seders at my Aunt Sarah's house or Bubbi's (Florence's) house for Passover. Bubbi Florence lit the Sabbath candles and let me say the prayers whenever I was at her home. She sang to me in Yiddish. Though I could never understand more than a word I still try to hum the melodies she used to calm me when I was a distraught teen. Rest in peace.

As an adult I was married at El Emeth. It was a beautiful, simple ceremony marrying Gary Gervelis under the canopy. Rabbi Meyer did the honors. Rabbi Meyer had supported me through all my ordeals and having him officiate was a special thing.

It's good to have those memories.


Featured Posts
Check back soon
Once posts are published, you’ll see them here.
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page