top of page

Metamorphosis (1)


I'm living in a transformative time. I visualize my declining body once again possessing a level of healthy ability. I've begun moving forward to be the kind of person I want to be instead of the person I thought I should be. Wishes, dreams, or goals; all are obtainable given time and effort. Post-transplant I'll be able to continue the one's I've begun, start those waiting for the chance, and grow with each newly gifted day provided by my donor.

I wish to walk around the house and breathe without an oxygen cannula in my nose and 50 feet of hose trailing. It will no longer be around to get caught on things or trip others. I want to breathe deep easily and exhale normally. I want to be free to roam! I want to be a productive family member again. I want to clean the kitchen, make dinner, do laundry, do chores, chores, and chores! I want to grab the car keys and run to the store. I want to grab the car keys and take the dogs to the park. I want to get frustrated when I lose the car keys. I really want to be free to move at will!

I dream of socializing again! I want to talk with people without stopping to catch my breath. I want the energy to give Sandy a big hug the next time she comes to visit! I want to have friends over to play cards or watch a movie and eat popcorn. I'll go to a restaurant without a facemask/O2 tank and actually eat! I used to go out with my friend Linda once a month to try a new restaurant that had a coupon in an entertainment book. For better or worse we always left with a story and enjoyed visiting. Or, I would meet others and get dim sum. What fun!

I want to be a better cook and move forward with healthier nutrition habits. I can taste food much better these days so it's a joy! Stacy has been working wonderful kitchen magic and I'm learning from my daughter! It would be so much fun to go to Sur La Table again and take cooking classes beyond "How to Boil Water."

I want a second chance at finding love. I want a companion with the wisdom and empathy to accept me as I am with a great big clamshell scar across my chest. Someone to hold my hand. It's time for another long term relationship. It would help if that person had a sense of humor, lots of money, and liked science fiction!

I want to see my son, Gabe , marry. I want to read books with my grandchildren someday! I'd like to be available as long as I can to give advice to my family as they face life's challenges. I want to be around when Ryan buys his first helicopter so he can take me for a ride! I want to celebrate Stacy's successes at work!

(To be continued.)


Featured Posts
Check back soon
Once posts are published, you’ll see them here.
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page