top of page

Metamorphosis (2)


Post-transplant I want to extend my exercise activity. One path I'm considering is to start bicycle riding. I want to get a colorful helmet, some snazzy reflective type clothes, and a light bike. I want to bike anywhere possible by myself and eventually with a bike group. I want to build up enough stamina to join other transplant recipients in the Seattle to Portland Bicycle Classic. I can dream it. I can do it. Right now it's exercise machines. Tomorrow it's wind blowing across my face. Another path is to push with walking and work towards joining a hiking group. I live in the Pacific Northwest. There's an abundance of beauty to be experienced! There are lots of social activities and groups for both walking and hiking.

Giving back to the Community! I have two ideas for giving back. (1) Establish a charity organization that will provide a shelter to give nicotine addicts a viable chance to kick the habit. The facility would have to target a few people at a time and provide in-shelter 30 day minimum programs to start. It should include chef production of meals and snacks, laundry service, psychological counseling, exercise assistance with doctors plan, 24/7 nurse on staff, and more. I'll continue to solicit input from medical professionals and others on this. My next step is a business plan. (2) Find some way to provide Recognition for Caregivers for those assisting transplant patients. There are a lot of forms this might take. It has potential to increase in scope following initial success. This is my favorite pick. I'm just amazed at the effort put forward on my behalf from so many directions.

In some way, shape, or form I will do work. I'm exploring how that will be defined. Perhaps I'll start courses to become a proofreader because I do love books! Maybe it will be starting crafts soon so I can ease into creating art glass later. I've always wanted to learn to weave. Now might be the time to dust off that book I bought and start with a handheld loom and classes.

I'll finish with something near and dear to my humanity. I conduct activities to actively reinforce peace within myself. That includes having contacted those with whom I needed to make peace from my past so we all have a strong base moving forward. I also meditate on existence after the body fails. My goal is to always explore new paths of learning and incorporate what makes me stronger.

The future will once again be wide open post-transplant. It's a 2nd chance! I believe working on making these wishes, goals, and dreams come true helps me manage my chronic disease now.


Featured Posts
Check back soon
Once posts are published, you’ll see them here.
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page